Recommended children's booklists sorted by age or topic

Home > Books > The Boy in the Suit

The Boy in the Suit

It’s not easy to fit in when you’re the boy in the suit…

Ten-year-old Solo – embarrassingly, that isn’t short for anything – just wants to be normal.

He wants a name that doesn’t stand out. He wishes he had a proper school uniform that fitted him. He dreams about a mum who doesn’t get the Big Bad Reds, like his mum Morag.

But most of all he longs to stop crashing funerals for the free food.

But when Solo and Morag crash the funeral of a celebrity and get caught, the press are there to witness their humiliation. The next day it’s splashed across the papers. Before Solo knows it, he becomes a viral sensation, and life may never be normal again.

Solo’s uphill pursuit of security, community and connection will break your heart and then mend it.

Page-turning, moving, but ultimately life-affirming, this story is perfect for fans of The Boy at the Back of the Class, The Goldfish Boy, Wonder and Jacqueline Wilson.

A sensitive, empathetic, timely portrayal of a family struggling during the cost of living crisis.

This extraordinary debut will make you laugh and cry.

This book is available on these booklists:

The Boy in the Suit

the boy in the suit

Book Details

Author:
Format:
Publisher:
Publish Date:

Booklists you might also like...

Subscribe to our newsletter

Your Review

Stone Girl Bone Girl

review

Year group(s) the book is most suitable for:

Year group(s) the book is most suitable for:

Does the book contain anything that teachers would wish to know about before recommending in class (strong language, sensitive topics etc.)?

Does the book contain anything that teachers would wish to know about before recommending in class (strong language, sensitive topics etc.)?

Would you recommend the book for use in primary schools?

yes

Curriculum links (if relevant)

Curriculum links (if relevant)

Any other comments

Any other comments