Recommended children's booklists sorted by age or topic

Home > Books > Knowing the Score

Knowing the Score

For as long as Gemma can remember it’s been her and Mum against the world. They’re as close as can be, but deep down she longs to get to know the rest of her family – Gran and Mum’s brother Joe – the family Mum turned her back on around the time Gemma was born.

With the summer holidays approaching, Mum is invited on an adults-only holiday. Gemma spots a chance to uncover the story behind the family rift and convinces Mum to let her stay with Joe. He’s the perfect uncle – fun, friendly and generous, and even signs her up for tennis camp. But Gemma can’t shake the feeling that he and Gran are keeping secrets. As the truth emerges, can Gemma find a way to bring her family back together?

A heartfelt story of complex families, forgiveness and new beginnings, for fans of Jacqueline Wilson, Lisa Thompson, Susin Nielsen and Cath Howe.

Knowing the Score

knowing the score

Book Details

Format:
Publish Date:

Booklists you might also like...

Subscribe to our newsletter

Your Review

Stone Girl Bone Girl

review

Year group(s) the book is most suitable for:

Year group(s) the book is most suitable for:

Does the book contain anything that teachers would wish to know about before recommending in class (strong language, sensitive topics etc.)?

Does the book contain anything that teachers would wish to know about before recommending in class (strong language, sensitive topics etc.)?

Would you recommend the book for use in primary schools?

yes

Curriculum links (if relevant)

Curriculum links (if relevant)

Any other comments

Any other comments